//
you're reading...
Career, Philosophy, Reviews

St Andrews: The Ripple Effect

A few days back a fellow computer science student at St. Andrews asked me “you want to own the world don’t you?” It took me a few seconds to realize that it was a poke towards management studies. Sometimes you are stuck in a quicksand, questioning your raison d’être : the harder yWaterou fight, the more it pulls you in. It’s a problem for anyone who has to think for a living. As we progress through life‘s stages, we are more independent of making our own choices, but we are certainly not free from the consequences of these choices and it often has a ripple effect on everything that is to follow. The module on contemporary issues in global management only helped me get a step closer to my ambition, allowing me to reflect on different sustainable approaches to business management with a whole new perspective.

Today capitalism and prosperity are armed with injustice as their ways are immoral, allowing the greedy to exploit the needy. Being a billionaire is no more of a challenge than a fetish. Sitting through the classes on this module gave me a fairer perspective on the ways to achieve my dreams and one day I hope to build an empire which seeks justice and integrity towards humanity. Entrepreneurship as I re-learnt is no more measured in terms of monetary returns but is the ultimate agency of change and that’s where I want to be five years down the line – making a difference to the environment that has provided for my existence. Someone once said that that the distance between where you are now and where you want to be is the motivation to step up and do things differently.

Coming from an academic system – which today does not seem challenging – where I constantly ranked amongst the top two in my class, the evaluation of my work from my peers in St. Andrews has been quite different. While the picture of intelligence takes many forms, it is hard to acknowledge that what we know is very little and even harder to accept that sometimes we all need to unlearn the little we thought we knew and that’s where education begins. At St. Andrews I found myself in a place where I must change to flourish realizing that I need to alter the equation I previously approached life with. When it’s time for me to battle with the real world of business outside, I know I will be armed with my education and experiences here and then silence shall no longer be my defence.

 As said by T.S Elliot “We shall not cease from exploration and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time”.

(Author: Guest)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recommendations

Advertisement

